My 1st Post – part 3 – Macau, Hong Kong, Antalya, Osaka, Kyoto & Reykjavik

Happy Lunar New Year to everyone. Wishing you all joy and prosperity in the year of the goat!

So for those of you who’s following me on FB, you will see that I’d forgotten one holiday from last year!!! D’oh!!! The reason I’d remembered now is because it was around Lunar New Year when I went to Macau and Hong Kong last year!!! This means that my holiday total of last year was actually 10!!! If only I did 2 more then I could have said I went on holiday every month!!! Oh well next time…

Instead of adding it back to the 1st post I’m just going to add here….

The real #2 Feb – Macau & HK

So I actually go back “home” every year so that’s probably why I’d forgotten it and really these are always more a family visit than a holiday. However I thought I’d put it in the post anyway to share some New Year festivities. Now my favourite thing about the New Year in order are 1) Lai Si (red pocket (money!)) 2) Food!!! & 3) Flower market. What I mostly wanted to share was the experience of the Flower market in Victoria Park, Hong Kong. Well what so special about a flower market? Of course there’s flowers that’s essential to any Chinese New Year. But what’s even better it’s the innovative plushie/inflatable toys that they come up with each year. We’re talking beer bottles, fish balls, mahjong pieces etc… To me this market really symbolises CNY and I’m extra happy that I was able to share this with the BF and my nephew. The market does get crazy packed so be prepared but if any of you are in HK for CNY that I would definitely recommend a visit to the Flower market. Another great thing about this visit was that I was able to spend some quality time with my friends in HK which I don’t normally get to do. 🙂

Amazing miniature exhibition in HK
Amazing miniature exhibition in HK

Another amazing miniature display
Another amazing miniature display

CNY decoration in shopping mall
CNY decoration in shopping mall

I was not kidding when I said it was crazy packed!!!
I was not kidding when I said it was crazy packed!!!

Yakult plushies
Yakult plushies

Mahjong pieces plushies
Mahjong pieces plushies

Daffodils for CNY
Daffodils for CNY

Nipple Fruit. Lol!!!!
Nipple Fruit. Lol!!!!

Horse hat as modeled by my nephew
Horse hat as modeled by my nephew

Cute CNY decoration in another shopping mall
Cute CNY decoration in another shopping mall

Random miniature display in the streets of HK
Random miniature display in the streets of HK

Lucky signage
Lucky signage

Macau sunset
Macau sunset
#8 Oct – Antalya

See I told you I wanted to prolong my Summer and my tan!!! Which is why when my best friend and I decided that we needed a girlie holiday this year we choose to go to the Turquoise Coast of Turkey. It was such a fantastic holiday and a great experience. There were so much to see and do!!! We were only able to go for 4 days but really you can spend 2 weeks along this historic coast. We pretty much only scratched the surface!!! This trip also reminded me once again that Turkey is definitely one of my favourite country!!! The scenery is amazing, food absolutely mouth watering, people super friendly (some are too friendly if you know what I mean!) and its soooo cheap!!! Our favourite place has to be Pamukkale, this is a MUST for everyone going to the Turquoise Coast!!! Spectacular place, adventurous (I’d swear I nearly died a couple of times!!!) peaceful and surreal!!! All in all definitely another place that I would highly recommend and will totally be planning a trip there again soon!!!

View from the boat
View from the boat

Harbor view
Harbor view

The best kebab
The best kebab

Termessos
Termessos

Pools in Pamukkale
Pools in Pamukkale

The view from the top
The view from the top

Odd statue on the street of Antalya
Odd statue on the street of Antalya

Sand sculpture festival
Sand sculpture festival

Delicious Turkish dessert
Delicious Turkish dessert

Turkish tea
Turkish tea
#9 Nov – Osaka & Kyoto

This was another last minute trip that nearly didn’t happen. However due to the generosity of my sister we did managed to go. This was the 1st time I’ve been on holiday with just my mum and my sister! It ended up being pretty fun even if there was some disagreement along the way! ( as expected) The reason for the trip was mainly to take mum to see the autumn leaves in Japan. It actually ended up being half sightseeing and half shopping. The autumn leaves were beautiful but actually we were a little early. We ended up going Outlet shopping twice and we went so crazy as everything were so cheap!!!!

Autumn leaves!!!
Autumn leaves!!!

Tenryū-ji
Tenryū-ji

Arashiyama bamboo forest
Arashiyama bamboo forest

Kinkaku-ji
Kinkaku-ji

Kimono
Kimono

Fushimi Inari-taisha
Fushimi Inari-taisha

Osaka
Osaka

Beef!!!
Beef!!!

Beautiful cake
Beautiful cake

Osaka shopping
Osaka shopping
#10 Dec – Reykjavik

Omg this was the best holiday of the year!!!! We did not wanted to leave!!! On the plane going home we were already planning out next trip there!!! There was so much to love!!! The food, the snow, the Northern Light, the vibe, the buildings, the everything!!! Absolutely loved this place. The only complaint I have is that EVERYTHING IS SO EXPENSIVE!!! But it’s well worth it!!! They also have the BEST hotdog in the WORLD!!! Everyone should go at least once and if you need more convincing, watch “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” that will definitely help! I feel that words are not enough, seeing is believing…so enjoy!!!

Cool street art
Cool street art

My 1st snow angel!!!
My 1st snow angel!!!

Amazing dessert
Amazing dessert

Christmas!!!
Christmas!!!

This lamb was perfectly done!!!
This lamb was perfectly done!!!

A very "strong" sky at 12pm!!!
A very “strong” sky at 12pm!!!

HallgrĂ­mskirkja
HallgrĂ­mskirkja

Harpa concert hall
Harpa concert hall

Thingvellir National Park absolutely breath us away!!!
Thingvellir National Park absolutely breath us away!!!

Another unbelievable scene!!!
Another unbelievable scene!!!

Strokkur geyser
Strokkur geyser

BEST HOTDOG IN THE WORL!!!
BEST HOTDOG IN THE WORL!!!

I've ran out of words!!!
I’ve ran out of words!!!

Multi layered cakes, my fav!!!
Multi layered cakes, my fav!!!

Leave a Reply

